Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Success! Though not in the peli-stalking dept.

Success at last! We've been upgraded on the last leg from Dubai. Of course, it's the first 14 hour leg that would have been really good, but one can't complain.

This transaction took a couple of hours at the Flight Centre again this morning. And at least an hour last night. I can't praise the Flight Centre staff enough! G had asked if we did our own bookings, but for long flights we prefer to use a travel agent, and this just confirms why.

Back home to do a few chores. I washed the car, and the lounge windows by the pool where someone who shall remain nameless (whose name begins with B) had splashed them with the hose. I then had to do the car again when JR pointed out all the bits I'd missed.

A huge beautiful butterfly came into the garden. By the time I got my camera, it had flitted off on to a high tree and sat in the sun. I gave up and wandered over to the wee park opposite us. There was a wee white butterfly flitting about and I followed it right round the park. When it flew (flitted) you could only see white wings, but when it landed and shut its wings together, they were all colours! No idea what it was. It too flew away. I don't have much luck with things that move.

We wandered down for sunset at the river with a bottle of wine and crackers and cheese (this is getting to be a habit). All the pelicans were there, paddling about by the table that the fishermen gut their catches, hoping for some scraps. I hung around for ages, but they just paddled off.

We sat watching all the something-oodles (doggies) trot by. And would you believe it, Percy and Priscilla (I think it was them, but it was getting dark) flew in. I followed them for a while, but they flew off into the sunset.

This is my blip tonight, because it sums up the frustration of trying to get a photo of this lot. The water is in focus, but the two pests pelicans aren't quite. Sums up my whole peli-stalking experience. They are fascinating birds, and have provided endless frustration fun. I MUST get faster at changing settings on my camera.

Did I mention that we'd got the upgrade? Which also means that we get chauffeured from Glasgow airport to Edinburgh!

PS the baby whale from last night is all right. The TV footage I saw was of people pushing it out to sea. I wouldn't have blipped a photo of a beached whale. Too sad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.