Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Percy poses for a part portrait

A domestic day, spent cleaning the bits of the car that I'd missed when I'd been cleaning the bits of the car that I'd missed first time. And cleaning the huge picture windows in the lounge that look out on to the pool where I'd missed bits and the splodges showed up in the morning sun.

JR did domestic tasks, then pottered about planning the meal tonight. It's a bit harder when it's not one's own kitchen, but I think everything is under control, though JR has admitted it might have been easier doing the other choice, but too late!

We were organised enough this morning to take a wander over to the marina to see if Percy was about to have a coffee and a fabby scone in the sunshine. Yes, Percy was in his usual spot, parading up and down the jetty by the restaurant.

I was able to gaze at him and take some close up shots. I like it better than the ones including his beak, as you can really see the fine wee individual feathers. And the beak does go on and on!

They really are incredible birds. Their top beak doesn't quite fit on to the bottom beak, and the pink skin that expands when they catch a fish is amazing. They are so comical, but graceful in flight. I'm so pleased to have been able to spend a lot of time with them these holidays.

We're now getting organised for the meal tonight, so in anticipation of not being able to blip later due to too much vino being otherwise engaged, I'm posting this really early.

Oh! Did I mention that we've got an upgrade? I keep getting little shivers of pleasure when I think about it. Or perhaps they're caused by the huge bag of Licorice Allsorts I'm working my way through...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.