Campervan Kid

By Campervankid

Notting Hill Carnival

I am not sure if I am brave or stupid but decided after Harley's behaviour last night to take him to London with me so he would not be left at my sister's causing havoc. It went surprisingly smoothly and I have never spoken to so many people. Clearly a dog is the trick to make Londoners happy, everyone smiled at us, people stopped to speak and pet him, a stark difference to the nameless face I usually am walking through London. Was a little up and down on the tube as you have to carry dogs on escalators, one of the main reasons I decided not to take Emmy, carrying a 42kg dog on an escalator doesn't sound like fun!
Harley, contrary to the norm, behaved very well, he does however now need a bath as he is covered in London muck, soot etc.

So our trip to London was for another #30@30 item, the Notting Hill Carnival. I have asked my dad to take me for as long as I can remember but I have never been. We arrived early, just as things were setting up, which was good as with a dog in tow didn't want to be caught up in too many crowds. We stayed for a few hours, saw some floats, experienced the music and smells of different food being cooked. We didn't hang around to eat as there was limited vegetarian food and it's not easy eating street food with a spaniel!
We made tracks as the crowds started to build, had to carry Harley in places as was getting very packed, but made it out without incident and headed to Covent Garden for some food.

With Harley finally flaking we decided to head home. Harley had a power nap on the train and then was ready for a walk when we got back, that dog just doesn't stop!
Wizzed Emmy out and then built a book case for my sister that has been hanging around for the past month and she hasn't bothered building it.

Made it home not too late, with two tired dogs and one tired owner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.