Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Gluten-free Banana Loaves

As we had several very overripe bananas, due to problems with my Ocado order last Friday, I decided to make a banana loaf. I have tried this in the past, with little success. However, today I used Mary Berry’s recipe from her Baking Bible, substituting normal self-raising flour for Dove’s Farm Gluten-free self-raising flour. The recipe was so easy that I made two loaves, using all of the overripe bananas. Mary Berry’s books always state that you should use the correct flour specified in the recipe, but as a Coeliac I have to experiment and this was quite a success. One cake turned out very well, the other one was a little crumbly so presumably some of the bananas were riper than the others making the texture different. Today’s picture is of the two loaves before they were removed from the tin.
 
The weather is hot and sunny again today, not quite the day for baking, but also much too hot for gardening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.