... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

University Parks: Massive Swanlings

More mature in large.

This was (I believe) that last time that I saw this cygnet! They're now huge, but still supercute.
An Oxford Cygnet Spy Network (OCSN) informant tipped me off to the location of the swan family (well, pointed out that they were back on the Cherwell by the University Parks...).
It was lovely to see them, and amazing to see their feathery faces and big wings. One of them was being mad like yesterday's goose, washing by flipping over and kicking water about. They did lots of splashing about and energetic preening in the sunshine: they got their plumage thoroughly soaked, before preening, and flapping their wings dry.
They were being pretty friendly (too friendly for some), and kept each other company while they washed and dived.
The parents were also on good form: they came over to check me out, and then the male had a seriously epic preen, although he didn't flap his wings even though I waited ages for him to do that...

I've uploaded a whole load to Flickr (right from 3 of the 4).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.