Persons unknown

At the end of last week, network coverage (and phones) disappeared from the Institute, and other buildings in the vicinity. I'd basically been working at home or on leave since then, so hadn't been affected. I was today, when I went in for a meeting, and I was much entertained by what I found on the IS alerts page... "Update: We have discovered a large section (approx 15 metres) of the fibre optic cable .... has been cut out by persons unknown". Checking it out on the internet, it would appear that dimwitted thieves have been known to take fibre optic cable which - at least in that quantity - has almost zero resale value, when they intended to steal valuable copper wire. Maybe that's what has happened here. It's been mightily inconvenient to a large number of people, whatever it was. Anyway, the problem finally seems to be on the mend.

I then moved on to a lunch appointment, which generally proved the maxim that there is indeed no such thing as a free lunch.

And lacking internet at the office, I then came home.

Our visitors left this morning. They were last "seen" checking in to a bistro in the borders. I hope their visit to the big blue and yellow place was successful. It seems strange to be without visitors, or visiting pals staying elsewhere, and to be without the Festival. I'm sure we'll get used to it, and meanwhile I need to roll up my sleeves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.