Orb Weavers...

...have apparently decided they like our front porch, as there were 3 really large webs out there this morning. I took a picture of one through the front window (which I've put in the extras), then in between all the rain I went out with the macro lens and took one closer up. I liked the effect of this one!
I think I accomplished a lot today! Tom & I have been talking about getting a new couch for the living room as well as a new mattress for our bed for at least 2 years, but we both hate to shop and I have trouble deciding on patterns, fabrics, etc. for any furniture.... I'm always second guessing myself....so I haven't moved on it!  Last night I saw an ad on TV for a big labor day sale at one of the furniture stores, & they were advertising that they carry Amish made, small scale couches----they can adjust the length of the bottom cushions too----which is great because I'm not real tall & when I sit on our present couch my feet don't touch the floor so I'm always sitting with my feet tucked up under me. I took the plunge and went there----it's a family owned business----& not only were they really nice, they were very helpful, & there was absolutely no pressuring for a sale, which is my kind of store! I ended up calling Tom to come check it out, as I didn't want to get something he might not like, so he drove over on the motorcycle and met me there. We ended up buying both a couch and a mattress--getting the labor day sale price, a first time buyer discount, an extra 5% from the company that makes the couch (as an unadvertised Labor Day special), free delivery (there's usually a fee), and because I told them I didn't want financing & that I'd pay the total right away they gave me another 5% off----I left happy and feeling like I'd gotten not only a good deal, but that I'd finally gotten both those purchases out of the way with it being relatively painless!  I'd never make it as an interior designer!!  :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.