Birdcage

Here's yesterday's object in its own environment on top of a cabinet  :-) And to have a better look at it see the extra. I have a tiny collection of these, they're Chinese ceramic bird feeding bowls for in a bird cage. I love the idea of making miniature china bowls for birds, even if I really don't like the idea of caging birds and would never have a caged bird myself. So don't worry, the bird you're seeing in the cage is as fake as possible. The little pots are not :-) Keeping and rearing songbirds and having competitions with them is an old and cherished pastime in China and many other countries in Asia. The cages and the other accessories can be quite costly, especially for the champions. I loved going to the places where the songbird competitions were held.
So what you were seeing in yesterday's Blip was the decorated wooden end of the handle on the ceramic bowl that clips into the cage rails.

Thanks so much for all your guessing comments. I do realise that you'd really need to have actually seen these before to be able to recognise the mystery object.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.