James I Room

A day of two castles.

This morning we visited Bamburgh Castle with its fabulous situation overlooking Bamburgh Beach and views for miles.  We found the interior a little uninspiring I'm afraid.

Then we went to Chillingham Castle and what a wildly zanily incredibly different place that is!  Sir Humphrey Wakefield purchased the wreck of the castle which was once owned by his wife's family (The Greys) in the 1980s and has been renovating, making interesting architectural and renovation decisions, collecting "stuff" since then.  It is an absolutely fascinating place full of soul, life, emotion, bizarre quirkiness.  Brilliant!

This is one of the rooms created to accommodate James I on his travels between England and Scotland in the 1600s and has now had the Sir Humphrey Treatment.  I was absolutely stunned by the colour and beauty and chaos of it all!  

Do visit if  you ever get the chance.  Be prepared to be amazed.  

Many thanks to everyone who has admired my seal blip from yesterday.  My Blips don't very often make it to the popular pages!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.