A day of two halves

The plan for today was to spend it in the area around Alnwick.  BUT SHH decided this morning that we should go a walk around the area by the apartment.  So that's what we did.  The paths around here are very overgrown as they haven't been walked for some time so he suggested we should wear long trousers.  i said we'd be OK in shorts.  It started badly with a long stretch of shoulder high nettles.  But we pressed on.  Then I felt something nasty on my leg.  Stopped.  Spotted the wasp culprit.  Tried to scoot him off.  He stuck.  Pain in lots of other places.  "It's a nest you're standing on!"  Aaaaaggggghhhhh!  I ran.  But they came with me.  Especially the ones up my shorts and down my vest!  Pain!  We abandoned the rest of the walk, found the road and wandered back to the apartment hoping we had some sting relief cream.  Luckily we had.  Bee stings in very nasty place!  Even SHH had two!  I had twelve!

Anyway.  We went off to Howick Hall this afternoon, the home of Earl Grey.  Needless to say, we had to have a cuppa and then we walked around the beautiful gardens, avoiding all wasps.  I liked these flowers which had large papery petals so I decided they deserved to be my Blip for today.

Thank you for all your sympathy which I am sure will be coming my way very soon...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.