The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

New Painting - Waiting

Today I was able to go to open studio. There were only three of us, me, Erin and Pat. It was quieter than usual but that was okay because we got a lot of work done. This was a blank canvas when I arrived this morning. Before lunch I painted Venetian red and gold gesso on the canvas beginning the division between the dark and light passages. After lunch I began to paint. I have a long way to go on this one. The extra is the photograph that I used as the reference. I took it in the waiting room at my therapist's office.

Helena met me after class and we got home just before Arvin did. Then my brother Steve called. He just arrived home after a backpack trip to California. Turned out Haku, the son of his wonderful friend Peitsa, was due to arrive around five thirty. I invited them both for dinner. We had a yummy dinner and then watched "Amadeus" perhaps my all time favorite movie. I could only find the "director's cut" on Netflix. We have both but I couldn't find the original one at home either. I much prefer the non-director's cut. It is smoother and leaves out some characters and scenes that really add nothing to the movie. Of course the score is fantastic. Ha ha.

Steve drove Helena home which was very kind of him. It was late enough that I didn't want to brave the night driving. Haku walked back to Steve's. He wanted a bit of a walk. On their way here he and Steve both got soaked due to an unexpected thunder shower that dumped on them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.