You Saw It Here First! Cat Stealing Baby's Breath!

I shared in yesterday's posting the news of the marvelous bouquet of fresh roses that arrived on Tuesday afternoon, courtesy of dear friends. One of the things that happens when you have a cat is that if you receive flowers, you might just end up having to defend them from your pet.

The bouquet was large enough to make two flower arrangements: this one, which I left at home, and another equally large and beautiful bouquet which I took in to my office at work. Thus the one at work was rendered safe. The one at home, not so much!

I keep a shoe and boot rack by the flower vase, and Dexter immediately climbed up onto an open slot and began attacking the floral bouquet. At first he admired it, then he sniffed it, and then he started stealing, and eating, the baby's breath (those tiny white flowers are baby's breath).

I am betting that we've all heard the old wives' tale about why you should keep cats out of the cradle to protect the baby, but now we finally have proof! Cats DO steal the baby's breath! (For those who may be wondering, this bouquet was subsequently moved to higher ground for safety of both flowers and cat!)

The soundtrack is one of my favorite songs about stealing. It's by the Man in Black. Here is Johnny Cash, with One Piece at a Time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.