Butterfly Days: In Which My Wish Is Granted!

I know it is a terrible character flaw, but I have been taking too many pictures of butterflies. :-) I say that with a smile, but it is true. We have moved into late summer, and the butterflies - especially the monarchs - are very, very active right now. Can I resist taking a hundred pictures when I see one? No, I absolutely can not!

I knew when I woke up this morning exactly where I wanted to go, and exactly what I was hoping to see. I had a vision in my mind's eye of a monarch butterfly. I thought I might find one on the Mexican sunflowers near the Sundial at the Arboretum.

So I went there, and I looked all around, but I did not see one. In fact, I saw no butterflies at all on the Mexican sunflowers, but plenty of bees! I did run into a really gorgeous painted lady butterfly in another part of the strolling gardens, though, and it posed so prettily for me that I snapped away. You may see its photo in the extras. (Please do look; it will make you happy, I promise.)

And then, just before giving up and heading back to my car (for a girl must go to work, you know!), I swung by the Mexican sunflowers for one last look. And there it was! My beautiful monarch had arrived, just as I had hoped and dreamed! My wish was granted!

And oh, it was fine. The light was beautiful and the sky was blue, and it was everything a photographer could wish for! The butterfly posed in every way you can imagine, and there I was, taking picture after picture. Butterfly with the light behind it. Butterfly with a green background. Butterfly against the blue sky. Ah, these sweet butterfly days . . .

Now, I originally chose this song for the painted lady, because I thought it would be my main shot for the day. But then I looked at the monarch butterfly photos again, and I just couldn't help myself. I had to pick this photo above as my main photo. So please indulge me. Here is a song for my butterflies.

Lady, when you're with me, I'm smiling . . . A 1973 Styx classic, Lady.

Dear hearts,
I just wanted to show you
how beautiful the world was today.
With love,
From the GirlWithACamera

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.