Late Summer Flowers Around the Sundial

Penn State's fall semester started on August 21, and campus has been very busy. It will be even crazier this coming weekend when the Nittany Lions hit the gridiron for their first home football game of the season.

Somehow, I managed to find myself a quiet corner of campus that's still pretty peaceful: near the Sundial at the Arboretum. The Sundial is for the telling of time, I know, but I don't mess with the mechanics of it; I just like the look of it.

I love the Sundial's pointy-sharp shape, and those stones that surround it in neat rows, the gaps just right for children to leap from stone to stone. I stop here often and think about time and what it all means in the grand scheme of things.

I can't say I've come up with any great answers, but I do love to ponder. They're mostly happy ponderings, I'm glad to report. And on a quiet late summer morning like this, with beautiful flowers blooming everywhere, time almost seems to stand still.

The song: Rush, Time Stand Still.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.