Lost in Thought

By steveng

4S

Still waiting on the results of the local survey on our new house so we had a day in Stratford and as Gill is out teaching sewing this evening, I had a wander around Warwick before the light faded. Every time I walk past this old building I am reminded of ....  many years ago, when I was a lad,  well a 19 year old, I had a Norton Commando, much modified and a great bike.  Mine was a 750S which is the same one Clint Eastwood had. I thought this was quite cool, but despite this, my friends decided to call me Steve Sensible, due to my restrained riding style, come to think of it, they still do :-). I always wanted a 4S which would have been definitely, unrestrained!

We still see each other and now have several fine children and a number of 30 yr marriages between us so perhaps I was not the only sensible one?

Skip the next paragraph if footering, modifications and engines are not your thing!

One of the many tuning enhancements available was to change the camshaft, they were called: SS 2S, 4S and so on, to give an altered valve timing.  Sadly,  my engine had been blown up by a previous owner welding the camshaft sprocket onto the end of the camshaft so I could never try this out, and had to make do with bigger carburetors and experimenting with throttle slides main jets and needles. 

With the benefit of hindsight - this was probably enough :-)  

These days engineering students spend quite a lot of  far too much time fiddling with software!

Many thanks for the views, comments and stars/favourites on yesterdays effort,  particularly to Bobs Blips as it did well in Wide Angle Wednesday. I'll reply over the weekend and scatter stars & favourites before then :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.