Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

There are lots of things wrong with/in this photo and it was the only one taken today, but there's one thing that was brilliant... Mary (who I met at the Women's Trad Fest, and I went to Harborough Rocks and did a load of climbing!

It does look as though I'm sitting on flat grass but in fact I'm at the edge of the crag with a 6m drop in front of me and Mary's just followed me up the route.  I did four leads, two of which were VDiffs - one of which was pretty scary because it was so polished, placed most of the gear ok and learned a lot about creating a safe belay at the top.

So what's wrong:-
Helmets are not the most flattering of headgear - sometimes I can be quite vain :-)
The angle of the two anchor points was a bit too wide and too much to one side, so I should have created a further one to my left to balance and secure me properly, but I had just swizzled round to speak to Mary so the set up wasn't quite as bad as it looks. I'm getting there :-)
The angle of the photo is just as off!
The brickworks is very near and, if the wind was blowing towards you, it wouldn't be very nice :-(

Sorry I'm behind with commenting on your journals, I'll try and catch up tomorrow - some things don't change you see, my school reports always said "Could do better"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.