A Day at the Museum

That's the Metropolitan Museum of Art, popularly known as "The Met".

It was raining this morning and people recommend setting aside a whole day here, so this seemed a good one to do it. The place is huge, and you could go mad trying to see everything. My advice is: don't. Admission is "pay what you like", suggested $25. Pay a lot less and go several times if you can.

If you know me other than on blipfoto, you may know that I am fascinated by how we see the world and how we see art. As a result, after a while I stop looking at the art in museums myself and start looking at people looking at art. I'm particularly interested in the way people take photos, especially selfies. I stood by Van Gogh's "Self Portrait with a Straw Hat" for a long time, watching people take their own self-portraits alongside this one.

I loved this song when I was about 15, now it sounds a bit corny :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.