MV Isle of Arran Passing the Shipyard (10)

15.4C with a bright start then mostly cloudy with some bright spells. A few spots of rain now and again. Light to moderate Westerly/WSW breeze.

Maeve the Deerhound and I went for our usual walk at 7am. Instead of coming upstairs when we got back we got in the car and I drove round to the old shipyard. Maeve sat in the car while I went to watch the ferries leave the harbour and come across Campbeltown loch. Ferry Friday and passing the shipyard all rolled into one. Then we came home for breakfast.

Salmon fishcakes from the fish shop today, then I went to the Coop.

After lunch Maeve the Deerhound and I went for a  repeat of the morning walking route across the road and round to the park and the harbour and back along through town.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I went for a walk. Mary Chapin Carpenter on the iPod Mini (Come On Come On then Stones in the Road ... then the battery ran out). I went round past the harbour where the cargo ship Louis was at the new quay. I went along by the ferry terminal and followed the shore side of the park and on out Kilkerran road past the Goldsmith's house and studio to the NATO jetty at Glenramskill and then kept going until I reached the 70 mile marker (or 30 miles if coming the other way) on the Kintyre Way which is out past the Doirlinn, round Kildalloig Bay past Davaar House and along the road to Ballimenach and almost to New Orleans.

I turned at the marker and came back the same way but went along the street side of the park and came back home through town. My best guess is that my turning point today was at least three and a half miles from home. The far shore in the blip was part of today's walk. The park by the ferry terminal ends at the houses on the right of shot and the Goldsmith's house and studio is the house on the far left of shot.

I counted more than 20 Herons along the shore as I walked along. There were one or two Gannets soaring but I didn't see diving. Right out near Ballimenach there were seals in the water.

Afternoon music ... The soundtrack to the Movie The Commitments. Shania Twain, Come On Over.

DMC-LX7 f/2.8 1/400 sec. ISO-80 7mm (35mm focal length 37mm)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.