Handsome fellow

Up early to get a train to Paisley. It's only ten minutes from Glasgow, but from Central station, which means that you need to get the slow train to Central, or go to Queen Street and walk/take the bus. Since I lost an orthotic a week ago, I've been experiencing some foot pain, and this will continue until I get the new orthotic (which will take another two weeks, I think). So I decided to go to Central on a slow Cross-Country train, but had to sprint from one platform to the other in order to get the connection.

This handsome fellow was guarding the entrance to the main building of the UWS campus. There are some quite nice buildings in Paisley, and now a pal has pointed out that I missed the opportunity to visit and photograph a memorial to the most famous law case ever. Shame.

I was there to do a keynote at a workshop/conference about Brexit and migration, and it seemed to go well. They were videoing it, so I'm looking forward to seeing the results if they go online.

Back early afternoon, to do some bits and pieces at home. As a result of being up so early, I fell asleep on the train on the way home. I woke up and realised that the train was somewhere between Haymarket and Waverley and I had no recollection of it having stopped at Haymarket. Since it was going all the way to Plymouth, I suspect I could easily have ended up somewhere really quite random if I hadn't woken up when I did....

Dinner at the Ship on the Shore with O. Lovely to see her for the first time in more than six months, apart from a quick sighting at a concert a couple of weeks ago at the Usher Hall. We also ran into H and S, who were there with a friend. Edinburgh's a village really, isn't it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.