Counting

The Blip was a set-up. My plate was the salad, without a single piece of meat and washed down with an apple juice. I'm actually not much in to counting and certainly not calories.

So for me just a normal day, but I did suggest I treat Angie to a Pizza at the sports centre she uses 2 or 3 times a week. So we met up after her session and she did without her wind down sauna session so that we had time to eat.

 I have never really taken any notice of the place, I think only having been inside once. It's actually a rather good facility. The food was tremendous, the pizzas being freshly made and baked in a real wood fired oven. They do their best to give the eating area a bit of atmosphere.

(Just for interest - my fairly simple ham pizza and a half litre of beer cost exactly 10.00 Euros which used to be about 7 GBP but nowadays more like 8 GBP!).

Angie gave me a tour of the place with all its various indoor courts and rooms full of ghastly looking machines with pedals and weights and other implements of torture. Then the rather good sauna area, I think there must have been about five different types, one of them outdoors and with a natural pond to cool off in and apparently is being currently used by a friendly snake.  There are also in- and outdoor climbing walls and various outdoor courts and fields. The German Skiing teams seem to use the facility for a week each year during their training programme. There is even mobile home parking with all facilities available.

After the morning walk with Flash while Angie was out riding with Luna, I realised the horse trailers MOT had run out in July. Quickly pulled it out of the field where it had been left to get Sultan to get used to it. Seems he got very friendly with it and chewed at  one of the tyre valves. Pumped it up and reckoned it might just hold the air long enough. Replaced the non-functioning light bulbs, fought to get an old porous rubber sleeve back in to an acceptable shape and finally set off to the agricultural engineers, 10 minutes after testing time started. Did a few quick stops on the drive to get the brakes warmed up and realised they weren't doing their bit. A few emergency stops from 100 to 0 on the main road - no improvement and so as I parked between all the tractors waiting for the test, knew I wasn't going home with the trailer. In an aside told the owner so and indeed the braking problem was spotted. I pointed out the tyre and sleeve problems and got a nod from the tester. Unhitched the trailer, and it should be done by Monday or Tuesday. As usually happens in such cases, the tester has issued the Pass paperwork, knowing the work will be done, so I won't have to reappear for a re-test next Thursday.

Trailers tend to suffer from being used too little and not getting enough exercise. Perhaps I should also consider joining the odd, what they call here "Bauch-Beine-Po" (Tummy. Legs, Bottom) fitness classes. I did see the Sportwelt offers an Active 60+ course.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.