Autumn

Early start to clear out the wood pellet central heating room. Service engineer coming to do the annual service. All went well and he was happy with everything, no parts to replace. I think soon the firebrick lining in the burner will need to be replaced as the system is now 12 years old.

Thinking about winter, set about sawing and splitting the trees that had to be felled earlier in the year. I hope at least one may be suitable for taking to the sawmill. Now that I have a functioning tractor, I must get around to finding out more.

Did far less than I planned. The heat eventually got to me in the afternoon and I put down tolls for a few hours. Think I should really wait until it gets more autumnal but the trees are lying around on a horse field and being about 15m long, not easy to move when one wants to mow.

Angie rode out in the evening and Flash and I went for a walk. Went to the villages old school house which I think is empty and think there are/were plans to have it done up to take refugees. As far as I know we don't have any in the village or in the parish. Angie had sent me there to check out the three apple trees as she was hoping, as last year, to pick the apples and take them to a local fruit pressing business. If you take enough (about 100kg) you get your own juice back or you can simply sell them your fruit regardless of weight. These businesses all seem to be starting up for the season, tomorrow.

Sadly the trees are bare, so we will have to find some others we can steal get them from. My daughter sent me photos of her apple trees filled to breaking point with apples. She loves fresh apple juice and particularly is a fan of apple cider vinegar. Shame Ireland is so far away.
(Irish apples as Extra Photo)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.