Thomas Struth at the Clark

We visited the Clark Art Institute in Williamstown today (90 minutes west of Northampton), mainly to see an exhibition  of 17th century paintings from the Prado in Madrid--mainly of nudes (which I suspected was designed as something of a come-on). But just outside the show was this large photograph by Thomas Struth, a German photographer whom I greatly admire.  The image shows students in front of Las Meninas, Velasquez's greatest painting, in the Prado (the image is here--4th from the top scrolling down).

I've know Struth's work for at least a couple of decades.  Nearly five years ago (in 2011) I posted a blip of an important church in Venice (San Zaccaria) which directly echoed a major work by him.  And I just realized that my blip has a link to a show that year at the Clark by him and a fellow photographer (Candida  Höfer).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.