atoll

By atoll

The Mothman

Report writing marathon continues and trying to win a Friday back so we can shorten the working week and head down to Bristol early on Thursday night. Only problem is the draw of the Olympics, and so many Team GB successes. Their success is becoming my constant distraction (a nice problem though!)

Changing the subject, here is a macro lens closeup of a little fella captured in the bedroom this morning before work, and photographed before its liberation (They freak MrsB out). I thought it would be fairly easy identifying it, but I was totally unprepared for the complete myriad of UK moths out there. Beautiful little things - who was it that said "Moths are Butterflies without the ego"- but I must admit to only paying attention before to the exotic ones: We once saw a Hummingbird Moth down at the Ty Coch Inn on the beach at Morfa Nefyn, that I actually thought was an escaped Humminbird; and a huge Elephant Hawk Moth caterpillar in our garden that literally looked like an Elephants trunk. Amazing.

I looked on http://ukmoths.org.uk, and the nearest I could match it with was something extravagantly called Square-spot Rustic Xestia xanthographa. Haha Not confident that's right at all. Help.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.