atoll

By atoll

#15 Crown Inn Stockport

Olympic football finals on Saturday so a light training session was programmed tonight at the Grade II listed and CAMRA rated Crown Inn in Stockport with Kempy. What finer British establishment as this working mans temple to the body sat under the railway viaduct? Brilliant. It is in my Top Twenty pubs of all time (I need to define my list more accurately, but I would pitch it about #15 currently).

We had spent the previous hour looking down and testing manholes on a Cheadle residential job we are about to prepare a Building Regulations application for, so we needed a 'debrief meeting' urgently.

MrsB when I rang to say I was running a bit late said "why do you call it a business meeting, when you are just going to the pub?" but where else could we gain CPD self-accreditation on subjects as diverse as foul drainage and the piscatorial merits of the River Dane in Winkle? Honestly, and she being my Company Secretary and all. I may have to consider giving her a verbal warning.

Brazil vs Mexico is beckoning for Saturday, but not before having to get through two further nights of knock-out: The first tomorrow is Kevin & Tracey in the Knutsford quarter final; and then Friday it is Martin & Angela in the Bristol semis. Some serious opposition there, and maybe Samba and Chilli will have to feature somewhere in all this mix as well.

I feel a PB may be on the cards this weekend, barring injury.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.