CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Buzzing around the sunflower crop

I stocked up on fresh vegetables and eggs at the farm shop near Bisley this afternoon. Maria was serving at the shop and she told me that Ashley, her dad, was stacking the hay bales on the far side of the farm. I drove over to their Dutch barn and Ashley told me where this year's sunflower crop was growing.

I drove across the field on a muddy track and walked a short way to the sunflowers which extended in three sowings across the field.  There were also countless other vegetable growing there, all of which attracted my eye.  But I thought I would concentrate on the sunflowers as the bees were still busy feeding on their delightful flowering heads. 

It is a Flower Friday challenge day and I've already seen several other sunflowers on parade there. I was concentrating on trying to catch the bees in flight, which was a bit tricky in the rainy conditions under the cloudy sky. But I had a go.

I am going to back blip some more images from our Scottish trip of the last two weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.