Community gardening

My last day in Moscow. I spent some time this morning re-packing my over-stuffed backpack, hopefully with the weight better distributed now and then I went walking. I figured I'd make the most of the nice weather and freedom to roam given I'm going to be on a train for a LONG time!

I went to a lot of neighbourhoods that I didn't visit on my previous trip. It was only a few days and it was either October or November so too cold to walk around and the dark days made me feel insecure. Not the case this time. I really like Moscow. Everywhere there are grand buildings and something going on. 

These floral arches are all over the main pedestrian areas. Perhaps for the celebration of the city anniversary but maybe they are there all the time. It's a much greener city that the impression I had before.

As the sun was setting I spotted some pink in the sky and checked where I was in relation to the river. I walked to the nearest bridge to see what view there was. My extra is a hen party who were there and asked me to take photos of them with one of their phones. It took three attempts because they kept getting the balloons in the wrong order - the letters spell out the bride's surname!

I'm currently making use of the hotel wifi before heading to the station. Next stop - Siberia! It'll take a while. So blips will either be sporadic or non-existent until Wednesday. I might be able to blip if: 1. the Russian sim card I bought really does have the data allowance I was told; 2. there's any phone signal along the route and 3. the train has a power socket to charge my phone. Watch this space....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.