Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Syon's Great Conservatory

A glorious day weather-wise tempted me away from the chores. I haven't been to Syon House for a number of year, and noting that my RHS membership card gave me free entry to the gardens, I decided to visit.

On reflection, heading into (and later out of) London on a Friday in the peak of the holiday season wasn't the best of decisions. Still the gardens were a relatively quiet oasis of calm. Mind you, I had forgotten about the almost consistent drone of planes overhead flying into Heathrow!

The main feathure of the gardens is the Great Conservatory , designed by Charles Fowler (who also designed buildings for Covent Garden) was the first conservatory to be built from metal and glass on a large scale. It was completed in 1827.  The fabulous central domed area was being set up for a formal dinner - based on the names on each table, I would guess on something to do with pubs  (see extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.