Under Attack....

....sort of! This bee wanted the spot that the monarch had, so kept buzzing around the monarch's wings. The monarch would open and close it's wings as if to shoo the bee off, & seemed totally unconcerned! When I got home and looked on the computer I was amazed to see, in many of my pictures, one or two long thin insects with the same coloring as the monarch! I'd never seen these before so looked it up & they're called "Ailanthus Webworm Moths", although their wings were tucked in and they weren't flying. I cropped one of the pictures so I could see it more clearly & then could tell they had wings that were folded in. I put a couple in the extras in case you'd like to see them. An absolutely gorgeous day today--hope you're all having a great weekend, and a very happy Labor Day to all my fellow US blippers! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.