MonoMonday: "Memorable"....

....and this spoon is, for many reasons.
1.)  My grandma collected spoons from each of her travels, & I was always fascinated by them, asking her where she'd gone and what she'd done--she left them to me when she died, so anytime I look at them I think of her.
2.)  When I graduated from college I started collecting them myself, but came to prefer collecting older spoons, since the designs, craftsmanship & history contained on them is unbelievable! The first Salem Witch spoon was made in 1891 by Daniel Low, a jeweler in Salem, who'd gotten the idea of making a souvenir spoon after traveling to Germany & seeing them there. The spoon was such a success, that he made a second, more elaborate spoon, which is pictured above. It was also made in 1891 & commemorates the infamous "Salem Witch Trials" of the 1690's. You'll see the handle is a witch's broom & is entwined with a rope & 3 "witch pins" stuck into it. At the lower part of the handle is the black cat, and at the top, the witch herself astride the new moon, holding a broom. It also has the city and date of the witch trials.
Last but not least, it's memorable because of how I came to get it. Some of you may remember my mentioning my dear friend Barb. We both loved to go to antique shows, & one morning she'd called me to see if I'd like to go to one with her, so of course I said yes. On the way to the show I told her that I was out of money until payday so under no circumstances should she lend me any money, no matter what I found there, or what I said, and she agreed. I said "I mean it! Don't even offer!" and she said OK. The very first booth we walked into had this spoon (my "Holy Grail" of spoons!).  I say:  "Oh my gosh! It's the Salem Witch Spoon!!!!!"  Barb says: "I'll lend you the money", and I say: "OK".....the rest, as they say, is history! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.