CeanUp

I'm a FloridaGirl and having spent all but the last ten years in my home town of Miami, I've seen more Hurricanes then I like to admit. When I was a kid I thought them exciting and lots of fun. Especially the epic Canasta games and the huge piles of yard debris lining the roadways after the fact. We would make 'forts' in the piles with tunnels that went on forever, at least that's how I remember it. In my teenage years, they became nuisances, they caused cancelations of all sorts of really important events in my life, like softball tournaments and vacations with my friends' families at the beach. And the clean-up was always hard, hot work. Things changed as I moved through adulthood. They were much more than inconvenient, they could and were often...terrifying!...I still have flashbacks of riding out Andrew. But that's a whole other story. 
Yesterday a friend who knows me well, stopped by to see if I was still in the world of the living. She heard me coughing so didn't come anywhere near but Connie told me later that she said that she thought that I must be really sick because, otherwise, all of the Hurricane Hermine yard debris would have been cleaned up already. Yes, I've been that ill. So today, I dragged myself out of the house and spent almost three hours 'cleaning-up'. Mind you...I'm not complaining! I'll take a 'near miss' anytime!
This sweet little Black-capped Chickadee gave me...moral support. Wishing you all a Very Peaceful Week! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.