Labor Day weekend, Governor's Island

It's a holiday weekend here - tomorrow is Labor Day, which kind of marks the end of summer and for many, the beginning of the school and college year. Hurricane Hermine seems to have diverted away from New York for now, so people were out enjoying the sunshine.

On impulse, I took the short ferry ride to Governor's Island from Manhattan, along with a lot of other folk. Unlike the Staten Island ferry, it isn't free, but at $2 for the return trip, I wasn't complaining. 

For a small island, there was plenty going on. No cars here, so lots of people cycle around. There are (small) hills to climb, a park full of hammocks to laze around in, and a couple of art exhibitions.

Also...the annual unicycle festival was in full swing (see extras).

One more day to go and then I'll be on my way home. Guess Labor Day will mark the end of summer for me, too.

I missed the Tour of Britain coming through castle Douglas today so this seems appropriate :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.