Small Places

By PicLocata

Steam, Speed and Serendipity

When we started our holiday in Whitby, we had planned to use the flat as a base to explore the North York Moors. However we soon realised that finding a car parking space at the end of each day was going to be a challenge. We decided to see how much we could do without using the car.

so, for our outing on this day, we took the North York Moors Railway to Grosmont, and then followed the Esk Valley Walk back to Whitby. It proved to be a very gentle and enjoyable walk in delightful scenery.

The steam engine in my picture is reversing at a very sedate pace into Grosmont Station. Actually I don't think anything on the NYMR happens very fast. I'd set a long exposure time inside the engine shed at Grosmont and forgot to change it when I came out. I like the effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.