GracieG

By GracieG

Mono Monday- Memorable

You know when you see something when shopping and just buy it on impulse?  Well...that’s what happened with this cute dog, I bought it for my mum many years ago.  I don’t think anyone had ever bought her a soft toy since she was a baby, and I think it brought out the child in her.  Mum named him ‘Boots’ and he was always perched on her dressing table.
My mum went through a lot when she was diagnosed with cancer back in 2005 and so spent a lot of time in her bedroom, especially during the last few weeks of her life and I think she found some comfort in seeing Boots smiling at her.
I have Boots on my dressing table now, he is getting a bit old, and the stuffing in his legs has got thin and he sometimes doesn’t stand up straight.  However, he is much-loved and a reminder of some of the memorable days that mum and I spent together.  Mum was happy with the smallest things, she loved to spend the day with me, a favourite trip was window shopping, and then a visit to a tearoom for a pot of restorative tea and a cream cake.  Mum, like me, also loved nature and wildlife and was always telling me about birds and animals she had seen and the pleasure they had given her.
I still miss her, but glad I have those memories to look back on...and glad to have Boots to say goodnight to before I go to sleep.

Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.