a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Medal

Mono Monday:  Memorable

I racked my brains for what to go with for this week's challenge, as set by Ingeborg.  I very nearly took a shot of a knotted handkerchief, but realised that as everyone uses tissues now (including me) it was going to be difficult to execute.  I don't know if you have ever tried to tie a knot in a tissue, but I can tell you that it doesn't end well.

In the end I went for something that is memorable for me.  This is my medal for completing La Marmotte in 2014.  La Marmotte is a cycling race that takes place annually.  It is 100 miles long and features 5,180 metres of ascent, taking in the mountain climbs:  Glandon, Col du Telegraph, Galibier and Alpe D'Huez.   I had trained hard for the event, and was rally pleased to finish with a gold medal time for my age group.  I still remember the adrenalin rush of the descent from the Galibier, and the agony of climbing Alpe D'Huez after nearly a 100 miles of cycling in the baking sun.  


Perhaps I will manage to get somewhere close to being that fit again next year - it has not happened this year, that is for sure!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.