Those were the days

I used to play underwater hockey ( we called it Octopush)  at international level.  A cross between snorkelling and ice hockey  but on the bottom of a swimming pool. There were not many women players in the country so  if you were mad enough to want to play the game,  it was not that difficult to get into the national team. We were super fit and we trained very hard , mostly against male teams , who hated it when we won. We made lasting friendships and I met my husband underwater in combat  Those days were indeed memorable.    On work courses when we had to introduce ourselves with a little known fact I would say " I represented my country at a minority sport. Which sport?" No one ever guessed. 
 
Having found these old cuttings (from 30 years ago)   I am digitising them to preserve them  and share them. If you know me on Facebook you will know which one is me - I am in all the pics. It's fun triggering memories in friends when the old pics go up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.