Mono Monday: Memorable

I didn't "do" poetry at school, I came across it by accident later. But one of the things that can really evoke a memory is a good poem .......

The first poetry book I ever bought was the one on the right. I was curious - the poet was also the local librarian. There are some great poems here. The second I bought was an earlier collection by the same poet, but one poem in it brilliantly brought to life the train journey I often took at the time - although that wasn't really it's point.

The poetry collection in the middle was one I bought when I went to my first ever poetry recital. I remember his very broad Yorkshire accent and very striking face. At that time I hadn't heard of his former wife, and all the complexities surrounding their marriage.

And the third is one I bought from Amazon as a present. I have a lousy memory, but J has an excellent one. Over the years I have got to know some of the poems here because they have been quoted at me often times - this was a school book, and a much loved one. "Freewheeling down the escarpment ...." Or "I'm only a wartime working girl .... " are lines I've heard often !
It's long out of print, but a search found it (previous owner Sharon, whose name is found inside)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.