Mono Monday - " Memorable"

Today's Mono Monday theme is " Memorable" organised by Ingeborg .  So I had a think and came up with a memorable trip to Las Vegas for my daughter Becky's wedding.  When she first told me she wanted to get married in Las Vegas I was so excited ( followed swiftly by wondering if my bank balance could afford it ) She decided not to go for an Elvis Chapel on the edge of town but to get married in The Bellagio Hotel.  So in  September 2008 I headed for LasVegas - by myself as Becky and her fiance Mike had gone out to the USA a few days earlier and Mike's Mam, Dad and sister were flying from the Midlands.  Becky and Mike had a room at The Bellagio, Mike's family rented  an apartment away from the centre and I stayed in Bills Gamblin Hall & Saloon ------ which wasn't anything like it sounds.  It was actually an excellent hotel and was located just across the road from The Bellagio. My room was huge with two massive double beds, an enormous TV and a marvellous view across to the Bellagio  -  I could also see the Eiffel Tower which was part of The Paris Hotel..

The wedding took place on 25th Sept 2008. In the morning Becky and I went to the Beauty Salon in The Bellagio to have our hair and nails done and our make up applied.  It was nice to have a bit of girlie time together. First ( and last ) time I have had false nails.   Then we got our " glad rags " on. As Becky's Dad had sadly passed away in 2001  it was my job to " give her away " and we walked to the ceremony together. 

The short ceremony took place on the private balcony overlooking the fountains and after they were pronounced "Man and Wife " Becky and Mike danced together and the fountains started " dancing " to music which Becky and Mike had chosen - " Fly Me To The Moon " by Frank Sinatra. The whole event was very emotional and there were tears.

Then we all adjourned to a restaurant in The Bellagio for a lovely meal.  Afterwards we went back to our accommodation for a rest and met up again in the evening for another meal.

The following day we went our separate ways and I had a good look around " The Strip".  In the evening Mike's parents and me had tickets to see Barry Manilow in the Hilton Hotel.  I got on the monorail which took me from my hotel to the Hilton.  The show was marvellous.  Really entertaining.  You can see my ticket in the photo - and the " Barry Manilow Glow Stick ". 

Mikes parents and sister went home next day and Becky, Mike and me went in a hire car out to a large shopping mall in the desert for some retail therapy.  You won't be surprised to hear that I bought a handbag amongst other things.  I had the most wonderful Chinese meal from a stall in the mall. I remember hearing that Paul Newman had died that day.

The three of us spent a couple more days in Las Vegas and then it was time to leave.  I headed for Newcastle - via Gatwick - and Becky and Mike went to Mexico and then Cuba for their honeymoon.  Its a trip I will never forget.  I loved Las Vegas - so different and colourful.  And I really felt safe there - even walking around the streets late at night by myself.  I loved just standing in the cool of the evening watching those Bellagio Fountains dancing to music.  Magical - and memorable.

( If you haven't seen the Fountains take a look HERE.  The song playing is my favourite.  I would often wait around till this one came on.)

As for today - not memorable at all.  Usual Monday in fact.  Shopping in Tesco and going to slimming club.  Put a pound on.  Weather has been lovely - warm and humid. 

Steps today - 9,244

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.