NewcastleGateshead Quayside

Was expecting a booked phone call at 12 noon but it didn't happen until 1.20pm so I was a bit late going out.  I got the bus to Gateshead and then headed for the River Tyne.  I walked through the Sage music venue on the Gateshead side and then I wanted to make my way to the Millennium Bridge to cross the river.  However the route was closed.  Preparations were being made for The City Games which take place over the weekend and there were lots of articulated lorries, cranes and workmen.  I was directed towards another route.

Once on the Newcastle side of the river and I had intended walking along to Ouseburn but the weather was very warm and humid and I had no energy so I decided just to walk into the centre of Newcastle.

I have made a collage of some of the photos I took while I was down at the river ..... Top left - The Tyne Bridge - all ready for 57,000 runners to cross over on Sunday during the Great North Run.  Top right - The Millennium Bridge.  Bottom left - window cleaners on The Sage.  Lots of glass there for them to clean.  Bottom right - the Tyne Bridge again.

I then headed for John Lewis.  I had found a coupon in my purse this morning entitling me to a free cup of coffee and a cake so I decided to treat myself.  Choice of coffee was easy - skinny cappuccino.  Then to the cake.  So many delicious cakes to choose from. I plumped for a slice of Strawberry Victoria Sponge. I savoured every bite.  Its so long since I had cake.  I have put a photo in my extras.

Then I went to Argos.  I got a 2 tier dish drainer - used my Nectar Points so it didn't cost anything.  So in the end I didn't spent any money at all today.  That hardly ever happens.

Becky and Mike on holiday in Turkey went on a sailing boat trip today.  It was 40 degrees - so they were glad of the opportunity to jump off the boat and go swimming and scuba diving in the sea.

Steps today - 10,767

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.