VICTORIAN PIPE BRIDGE

Lazy morning.  This afternoon I had an appointment with a physiotherapist at The Blaydon Health Centre. So  I walked down to the village to get the bus.

I got off the bus a few stops before the Health Centre so I could do some extra steps.  The route took me across one of the bridges over the River Derwent.  Next to the bridge I was on is this Victorian pipe bridge - you can see the cast iron water pipe which carries over 25 million litres of water a day. The structure has two stone towers and three spans of wrought iron lattice girders.  It has recently been renovated and painted by Northumbria Water. I think they did a good job.

I took the photo using the panoramic setting - my entry for Wide Angle Wednesday organised by BobsBlips

So I saw the physio who asked me lots of questions concerning the pain I have been having in my back and pelvis.  Its all related to the scoliosis ( curvature of the spine ) I have had all my life.  I now have a sheet of exercises which I have to do 3 times a day. They are the basic ones.  I need to go back in a month and he will give me some more difficult ones to do.

Then I went to the shops in Blaydon - I walked there instead of getting the bus ( more steps ).  Just went to Morrisons.  ( Didn't go there this morning for the usual big shop as my friend Jan is on holiday in Germany)

Just had an evening of watching TV - Corrie, Bake Off and Banks. 

Weather has been lovely again - warm but a bit humid.

Steps today - 9,932 ( will get to 10,000 before midnight )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.