A LEGEND HAS GONE

I had something else to blip today but changed my mind when I saw this post on the local residents page for my village. The North East legend Mike Neville died today.

Now I guess if you aren't from  the North East of England you will not have heard of Mike.  So I will tell you a bit about him. 

Mike Neville was a British television presenter who worked mainly on regional news programmes in this area. He spent over 40 years with the BBC becoming the longest serving main anchor of any BBC regional news programme and then moved to the ITV franchise Tyne Tees Television. He became an iconic figure in the region and is remembered for his solid presentational style and witty banter. In 1990, Neville was awarded the MBE for services to broadcasting. He was offered jobs in London on many occasions but preferred to remain where he was born and raised.

Mike and his co-presenter and great friend George House were  responsible for a series of recordings, beginning with Larn Yersel' Geordie, which attempted, not always seriously, to bring the Geordie dialect to the rest of England.

I remember watching TV in In 1989 when Mike was caught by TV prankster Noel Edmonds with a "Gotcha" on his programme Noels Saturday Roadshow.  Mike was tricked into thinking he was filling seven minutes of airtime because there was a technical fault. He was easily able to adapt to the situation and stay professional, and was the only local anchorman in the UK to ever receive a "Gotcha".

Mike lived just round the corner from me and over the years I have seen him and his wife Pam out and about.  But in recent years Mike has been confined to home due to ill health,  When ever I saw Pam I would always ask after him.  So sad he has passed away. RIP Mike.

I had an appointment at the dentist this afternoon - check up and to see the hygienist.  Teeth OK apart from two top teeth which need fillings along the edges where they are worn.  Made an appointment for after my holiday ( estimated cost £90 )

I got a marrow in the " Slimmer of the Week " basket on Monday so I made stuffed marrow for my tea - used beef mince, onion, tomatoes and tomato puree for the filling. First time I have cooked or eaten marrow.  (rather tasteless I thought)

Steps today - 8,198

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.