Thoughts of a Mummy

By Jaxndm

Emoshe

Blimey, that was a full on day!

So it started with DM getting up very excited about her forthcoming residential, as she was getting herself ready, she was making sure we all knew that "this is the last time I'll lie on your bed", "the last time I'll brush my teeth" - in the end I had to ask her to be quiet and know that it wouldn't be the last time, it would be a while until she does it again at home!

My strength nearly faltered when I saw Aj get her school uniform on; I had take a breathe as she skipped out of the bedroom all proud.

There was still a lot to do before we left to get to school, so I had to be on my game and on my toes to keep the routine going. I desperately didn't want to be cross this morning, as it wasn't the memory I wanted DM to leave with. Yet I must admit to tasting a hint of blood from my tongue when we finally arrived at school for 8.44, to realise that DM's lunch was still in the fridge at home!

As I walked Aj into her first day at school, she was confident, happy and keen. Which to be honest is all that I could wish for.

DM had already told me that she had butterflies in her tummy about going away. She has left little notes to each of us on our pillows. As I walked her into the school gates she again told me that she had butterflies and I told her that it was excitement for the fantastic time ahead. I held her tight, gave her a kiss and told her to have the most amazing time.

I managed to make it back to the school to wave the bus off, and as the children walked to the bus, there were some that looked excited, some that looked apprehensive and then there was DM... Good ol' DM big smile on her face, waving her arm high in the air shouting Adios Amigo's - see ya!

There are children excited to be sitting with friends, there are children tearily waving at their parents and then there's DM, waving to get my attention to tell me with such excitement that there's a TV on the bus!!

I truly do hope that she has an amazing time. We are lucky that the school are keeping us updated with the kids antics while away.

I've had R being fairly naughty and defiant tonight and when asked, she couldn't say why she was behaving so bad; but then there was proper sobs when she got to bed to find a lovely note on her pillow from DM saying night night. As I'm typing this blog, P has got up to go to the toilet, settled herself back into bed but then started to sob because she's missing DM and wants her to come back. Aj, well, she's chuffed that she's been to school. She's happily informed us that "she didn't wipe her mouth or nose on the sleeve of her jumper" and that her best friend "looked beautiful in her school uniform".

4 amazing little ladies that are full of character, brimming with personality and have hold of my heart for their lifetimes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.