fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Two kids with cameras...

my youngest brother and myself...mine hanging down from my neck and my little bro holding his....and the family beagle Lady Belle.  We were out on a chilly Ohio winter's day--thus the warm jackets . I needed to complete a 7th grade science project so my Dad took me out to where his tree nursery was along the Chardon river.  there he proceeded to teach me how to identify differing varieties of trees by their bark.  He said that way it's pretty easy in the winter to identify hardwoods that have lost their leaves.   Each time he showed one to me I would photograph it for my project.  I later posted them all and identified them and explained how to see the differences and identifying features of the bark.  My little brother enjoyed the time and any outing made the dog a happy camper.
    I think I got a good grade...that's the good part as well as the time spent wtih my Dad doing this...and my brother and doggie. The sad part  and "bad" part is I have retained very little bark identifying knowledge.  A very wee bit. But I still shoot pictures. I  just don't carry the  camera  around my neck!
    Now, years later there is still a tree nursery there that my older cousin runs...he lives along the Chardon river and maintains the nursery.  My younger brother in this picture went on to run the family arborist business my Dad was running at the time of this picture.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.