fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Day late....favorite place

Not a mono Monday timely posting...but my head was a day off so I'm just posting on tiny tuesday instead my "favorite place" which is the forest....the cleansing feeling I get walking or sitting or just "being" in the woods.  I do love the waters, mountains,  and plains and other natural places, but the woods are my favorite. 
      As a child I lived right next to woods on both sides and would play in them all day long...at least until we heard my mom calling out our names to come for lunch or dinner.  We played coal minors digging up coal in the hillside.(..there was really some there), we had grape vines we swang on over the hillside, we followed cow trails from the top of the hills in the woods down to the street on the way to school.  In my Dad's youth our street was a small river and cows used these trails up and down to the waters edge.  We built hide a ways in the woods and sat on stumps. Later my brothers would call the same hide a ways "forts".  In these woods I would find solace....immerse myself in dreams and just enjoy the solitude....I still find that solitude today in the forests.
     The ash is dropping in the Seattle area now mainly from the fires around Crystal mt. south of here and ash is very bad in the Portland area threatening places along the Hood River and the historic  Moultnomah Falls area.  School closures in Portland area and sw Washington....very scarey stuff caused by human carelessness with fireworks etc.  sad go here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.