Tiny Tuesday: Ladybird on the Moon!

Bet you didn't know there were ladybirds on the moon? - it's amazing what telescopes can show nowadays! (Believe that, you'll believe anything.)

I was busy painting our bathroom walls this morning when this ladybird came and settled on the ceiling next to me. Well I'd been pondering what to blip for today's Tiny Tuesday, so naturally (as all blippers would do) I put my paintbrush down immediately and got the camera out.

When the camera was nowhere near, the ladybird was perfectly still, but it was clearly camera-shy as it began walking quite briskly across the ceiling as soon as the camera approached. 150 shots later I had two photos with which I was reasonably happy, after having followed it across the ceiling (requiring frequent moving of the ladder) and then across to the open sash window from where it finally flew away.

I thought the macro appearance of the ceiling looked just like the surface of the moon so I've put this as my main blip. The extra is slightly better technically as the light was better by the window so I could use a lower ISO setting.

I'm sure I'm terribly ignorant about ladybirds but I don't recall seeing one with these colours before.

Three cheers for dbifulco who's taken responsibility for TT this month - many thanks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.