A Walk in the Scotia Barrens

Sunday morning arrived sunny and breezy and comfortable. My husband and I had been out in the woods swimming and backpacking on Friday and Saturday, and we had lots of catch-up stuff on our list for the day.

Our list included some fun things (such as making a nice hot chicken dinner) as well as some necessary things (such as doing laundry and putting away our camping gear). But first, we went for a walk in the woods.

It has been a very dry summer around here and the vernal pools are all gone now. The water in the gamelands - and in other places - is lower than I may have ever seen it.

These things do not bode well for the water table, but there was still plenty to enjoy in the Scotia Barrens. One of my favorite things to do is to set up reflection shots, and this was one of the first of quite a few for the day.

The soundtrack song has got to be about walking, which is a thing my husband and I do a lot. Here's a fun one: Aerosmith, with Walk This Way. :-)

P.S. I have a bit of catching up to do, so I'm posting two blips today. Please be sure to check them both out! Here's a link to the other one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.