Weaver of Dreams

It was Labor Day Monday, and so I had the day off. We had plans to go swimming and run some errands, but almost every day begins with some time on the front porch. Guess what we were treated to when we went out on the porch first thing: a glorious, huge spider web had been built there overnight.

The web stretched from the Dancing Girls' fuchsia plant (oh, what a lovely view they had of its making!) all the way across the top of the front steps. I suspect the artist was an orb weaver. They make such beautiful and intricate webs this time of year.

I fussed over what angle to use to get the best shot, so I took many pictures. Somehow I was shooting straight into the sun, which can pose its challenges. I'm including my two favorites - don't miss the more standard shot with the spider in the middle in the extra photos area.

I was tickled to see the colors and shine that ended up in the bokeh. The web almost looked as though it were strung with glittering lights, in bright colors as though for Easter or Christmas.

And the spider - practically glowing in the sun in the middle of everything - was the artist, that weaver of dreams.

The soundtrack: Gary Wright, with Dream Weaver.

P.S. I have a bit of catching up to do, so I'm posting two blips today. Please be sure to check them both out! Here's a link to the other one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.