The Rescue of the Lol-Frog-Burglar

It was a Saturday, and we were trying to catch up on some things around the house. My husband decided it was time to mow the yard, but he came running inside part-way through his task. He wanted me to come OUT, come out RIGHT NOW, as a TOAD rescue was needed immediately!

He thought he had run over a toad with the mower, and so I grabbed a lid from the kitchen, thinking I would somehow put the creature on it. And then I ran into the yard behind him. In the green grass in the middle of the backyard sat a frog, and a wood frog, in fact. It was motionless and I feared the worst.

But then I reached for the frog, and was I ever surprised. For it leaped HUGE leaps, landing in the middle of the grass that was yet to be cut. It led me on a merry chase, and it was all very silly to see, I'm sure. But between my hands and the lid, I finally caught it and moved it to safer pastures, which is to say Gremlin's Meadow. I let the frog go among the jewelweed, and it bounded away! Hooray, a happy ending!

My husband informed me later that the frog was lucky that he sets the mower setting a bit high; had it been set lower, the frog would have been . . . well, we don't even want to think of it. My husband had actually mowed over the creature, then he spotted it, then he stopped the mower and told the frog to "STAY PUT, HELP IS COMING!!" (Which made me giggle. Since when do amphibians take direction?)

You may note the tiny black mask that the frog was wearing. And by this, I can only surmise that this particular amphibian was a very small burglar. A frog burglar, no less. Perhaps a few of you have heard of the Icanhascheezburger website, which displays funny captioned pictures of cats (or lol-cats, as they are known). So I shall think of this charming fellow - starring in another silly episode of The Ridiculous Stuff That Happens in Our Yard - as the lol-frog-burglar!

The tune to accompany this posting has to be a song about a rescue. And so here are the Rolling Stones, with Emotional Rescue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.