The Golden Web

It was another fantastically foggy morning in central Pennsylvania, and I was fortunate to have time for several stops on my morning drive. We had a nice gentle ground mist the day before, but this fog was different. It was deep and heavy, thick as pea soup, as they say.

I hopped out of my car to take a few misty shots by a little pond that I like, and I could almost feel the fog closing in around me. One of the things I noticed first - even before stopping, actually - was the cobwebs hung everywhere. And I mean EVERYwhere. They were dripping from every twig and bush, dangling from every flower in each meadow, spun between the railings on fence rows. And in the morning dampness, they were strung with liquid jewels of dew. Spider art. Dig it.

As I quickly made my way along the edge of the tiny pond, a huge bullfrog lurking on the bank by the dock jumped in with a big SPLOOSH! The fog moved and reshaped itself like a living creature, all swirling mist, and the light started to come. I got closer to the edge and positioned myself for some macro shots as the light turned the web to gold. And then the pond caught the light from the sky and the fog . . . and suddenly it was all golden, everything golden in the morning light.

I wanted the song to accompany this photo to be about gold, and I admit that I couldn't choose just one. So here are two of my favorites. Fleetwood Mac, Gold Dust Woman; and Dan Fogelberg and Tim Weisberg, The Power of Gold.

P.S. A personal story . . . my father's nickname for me when I was a little girl was Goldie. It was short for Goldlilocks, and he called me that because my hair was so blonde. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.