Confessions of a Sunflower Addict

I admit it. I have become a woman obsessed with sunflowers. I have visited the sunflower gardens at the Arboretum every morning since Tuesday, when I discovered the first bloom.

On several days, I've visited the sunflower gardens more than once. I enjoy watching how the light touches their little faces differently, at different times of the day.

I love the bees that love the sunflowers. I watch carefully, hoping for butterflies and dragonflies and hummingbirds. (And yes, this week, I have seen at least one of each of these creatures winging its way over the sunflowers' heads, but alas, none of them stopped for a picture.)

On Thursday morning, the sky was dark with dead clouds from overnight as I arrived. But the sun was starting to emerge, and the gardens were coming alive.

There were sunflowers of many colors turning their faces toward the sun: bright yellow, of course; and pale yellow; and brown; and black; and yes, even red sunflowers, their colors practically shining out like a red traffic light in the morning sun . . .

The song to accompany this red bloom is a song I loved in childhood. I would have been going on four years old in October 1968, when this song was released. But I have several sisters who are quite a bit older than me, who bought records and played them (and played them, and played them . . . ) at home.

And so thanks primarily to my older sisters, I have very fond memories of some of the popular songs from the late 1960s. Here is one of them: the 1910 Fruitgum Company, with 1, 2, 3, Red Light.*

Oh, and the weather here for the next few weeks? Sunny (one hopes), with clear blue skies . . . and an excellent chance of sunflowers! :-)

*P.S. Does anyone wonder what the heck they are singing about? It's a children's game: 1, 2, 3 red light! Very similar to a children's game called "statues" in some countries. Read more about the game on Wikpedia. And additional trivia about the song is available on songfacts.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.