Ho-ho-ho ho ho

This is Woody, one of the resident woodpeckers on our estate. I've mentioned before that they've been teasing me since we moved here, posing for me and then flying off the moment I go to press the shutter. This morning I was in the study on the phone when I noticed her on our front lawn. While still talking I got my camera out of its bag, put the longer lens on, and moved to the kitchen where I pulled up the blind and got her in my sight. I tried a couple of one-handed shots but quickly realised I needed to use both hands so I wound up the phone call quicker than I would have*, pointed and shot again. This is the best of the bunch through the desperately-in-need-of-a-clean window. Isn't she gorgeous, though? :)

Incidentally, both male and female green woodpeckers have black moustaches but in males it has a red centre.


*I was complaining to Biffa about the fridge they should have collected yesterday and didn't, which will now be languishing on our drive for another week...grrrrrr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.